RIVER IN THE SEA

RIVER IN THE SEA

by Tina Boscha

Finalist in Literary Fiction Best Indie Books 2012
The New Kindle Book Review

When a German soldier’s dog bolts in front of Leen’s truck, in a fraction of a second, she must make a choice: brake hard, or hit the gas.

She floors it.

What happens next sets off a chain of events that pitches Leen, just 15, and her family against the German forces when they are most desperate – and fierce. Leen tries to hold her family together, but despite her efforts, bit by bit everything falls apart.

And just when Leen experiences a horrific loss, she must make a decision that could forever brand her a traitor, yet finally allow her to live as her heart desires.

A great choice for fans of Stones From the River, The Book Thief, Those Who Save Us, and Sarah’s Key, River in the Sea is a tale of first love, tragedy, intrigue and betrayal.
Not just another war story, it is that rare book that makes your “emotions just pour from the pages as you read and continue to root for the characters” (Valerie Bowen, author of the For the Sake of Amelia series, 5/5 stars).

Inspired by the life of the author’s mother, River in the Sea is a powerfully moving account of one girl reaching adulthood when everything she believes about family, friendship, and loyalty is questioned by war.

THE DYING OF THE LIGHT

THE DYING OF THE LIGHT

by Jason Kristopher

Finalist Horror/Suspense Best Indie Book 2012
The New Kindle Book Review

“I didn’t see Rebecca die the second time.”

The United States military hides a secret: the completely real existence of eat-your-brains, one-bite-and-you’re-dead zombies. The Army has known they exist for over a hundred years, and has been quietly and expertly keeping the secret.

Until now.

His hometown destroyed, with everyone he has ever known dead and gone, the sole survivor of the massacre at Fall Creek joins a secret military group to combat the single greatest threat our world has ever faced. Unfortunately, his help may come too late. Even as victories over the walkers mount, the seeds of our ultimate doom are sown from within, and at the last, only a brave few may survive to carry on.

THE DROUGHT

THE DROUGHT

by Patricia Fulton

Finalist Horror/Suspense Best Indie Books 2012
The New Kindle Book Review

Welcome to Junction, Texas
Population: 626 and steadily declining

Odd things have been happening around town. Hugh McManus went out to one of his grazing pastures and shot the better part of a fine herd before shooting himself. Luke Casteel crawled into a drainage pipe and never came back.
A herd of wild javelina attacked and killed Rod Sawyer. And the thing is, the dying isn’t nearly done.

KILLER HEAT IS ONLY THE BEGINNING

Jared Riley knows there’s something sinister about the heat. It’s got people acting crazy and it’s got him hearing things. A voice keeps whispering, “It’s gonna get mighty hot. Yes sir we like our meatloaf and taters well done, served up pipin’ hot.” Convinced the heat is tracking them, picking them off one by one he sets off to find help. Trouble is, the people who have the answers are more dangerous than the heat.

Driven by strong characters and a twisting plot, The Drought delves into the supernatural world where ghosts roam the landscape and a voodoo curse floats on the wind.

PEGASUS FALLING

PEGASUS FALLING

by William E Thomas

Finalist Literary Fiction Best Indie Book 2012
The New Kindle Book Review

“Powerful, raw and emotive” The Kindle Book Review
“This is an intrigu­ing story, grip­ping from the first page to the last and full of sor­row, hap­pi­ness, kind­ness and heart­break” Zohar Laor, ManOfLaBook.com
“A marvellously panoramic story of how individuals dealt with the devastation of war” Damaskcat, amazon.co.uk Top 50 Reviewer

Arnhem, 1944. Captain Stanley Adam Malcolm Parker – Sammy to his friends – and his platoon have fought bravely, but it was always a losing battle. The bridge was unwinnable. After he and his men are forced into cattle trucks and transported across Germany on a three day journey without food or water, Sammy lashes out at an SS officer with brutal and devastating consequences…for him and his German opponent.

Instead of spending the rest of his war as a POW, Sammy is sent to a concentration camp.

Spared an immediate death, Sammy discovers firsthand the full horror of the final solution. Amongst the desperation and destitution of the camp, he encounters Naomi, a Jewish housewife from Dresden. Having seen her family murdered, Naomi has learned to survive by making the most unimaginable of sacrifices. She is the woman who Sammy comes to depend on to survive himself.

But when the camp is finally liberated, the couple are separated and Sammy embarks on a journey across a continent devastated by war and wracked by ongoing tensions to find out what happened to the woman he loves.

WALKING WITH ELEPHANTS

WALKING WITH ELEPHANTS

by Karen Bell

Finalist Romance Best Indie Books 2012
The New Kindle Book Review

Suze Hall is at a crossroads. Her nemesis at work, Wanda, has been promoted and now will be her boss. Her husband, Bob, is leaving her and the three kids for a six-month sabbatical down under. To top it off, her best friend, Marcia, is missing in action—playing footsie with some new boyfriend!

Adding to this disaster stew, David, the gorgeous hunk who broke her young-girl’s heart has coincidentally popped back into her life and has something she desperately needs to keep her job.

Walking with Elephants, a lighthearted slice-of- life story, brings to the table the serious work/family issues facing women today. It explores the modern dichotomy of a workplace that is filled with homemakers who still must cook, clean, carpool on nights and weekends, shop for prom dresses, and “create” the holidays—such as Suze. But it also is filled with women who have the same drive as men, have no family responsibilities, and will do what ever it takes to get ahead.

So step into the shoes of Suze Hall and commiserate over workplace politics, titillate your sexual fantasies, ride the wave of a working mother, and fall-down laughing.

THE DARKENING DREAM

THE DARKENING DREAM

by Andy Gavin

Finalist in Sci/Fi Fantasy Best Indie Books 2012
The New Kindle Book Review

The Darkening Dream is the chilling new dark fantasy novel by Andy Gavin, creator of Crash Bandicoot and Jak & Daxter.

Even as the modern world pushes the supernatural aside in favor of science and steel, the old ways remain. God, demon, monster, and sorcerer alike plot to regain what was theirs.

1913, Salem, Massachusetts – Sarah Engelmann’s life is full of friends, books, and avoiding the pressure to choose a husband, until an ominous vision and the haunting call of an otherworldly trumpet shake her. When she stumbles across a gruesome corpse, she fears that her vision was more of a premonition. And when she sees the murdered boy moving through the crowd at an amusement park, Sarah is thrust into a dark battle she does not understand.
With the help of Alex, a Greek immigrant who knows a startling amount about the undead, Sarah sets out to uncover the truth. Their quest takes them to the factory mills of Salem, on a midnight boat ride to spy on an eerie coastal lair, and back, unexpectedly, to their own homes. What can Alex’s elderly, vampire-hunting grandfather and Sarah’s own rabbi father tell them? And what do Sarah’s continuing visions reveal?
No less than Gabriel’s Trumpet, the tool that will announce the End of Days, is at stake, and the forces that have banded to recover it include a 900 year-old vampire, a trio of disgruntled Egyptian gods, and a demon-loving Puritan minister. At the center of this swirling cast is Sarah, who must fight a millennia-old battle against unspeakable forces, knowing the ultimate prize might be herself.

DEVIL’S HAND

DEVIL'S HAND

by M E Patterson

WINNER of Best Indie Book 2012 Suspense/Horroe
The New Kindle Book Review

The lone survivor of a tragic airplane crash, Trent Hawkins inherited a supernatural lucky streak that made him famous, and hated, in the poker circles of the City of Sin. So the powers-that-be kicked his ass out.

Five years later, Trent and his wife return to Vegas, only to find themselves facing a demonic serial kidnapper, Armageddon-seeking angels, impossible shadow creatures, and an unholy blizzard that threatens to smother the city with ice. And by some strange twist of luck, Trent’s the only one who can make things right. And he’s got his own dark secrets to deal with…

DREMIKS

DREMIKS

by Cassandra Davis

Finalist Sci/Fi Fantasy Best Indie Books 2012
The New Kindle Book Review

“Dremiks” is a story of adventure and intrigue set on humanity’s first inter-stellar transport. The stated mission for the crew and colonists of the Hudson is to travel across the universe and save the doomed planet of Dremiks. During their seven month journey, though, they learn that human beings have not fundamentally changed–jealousy and greed are still powerfully motivating characteristics.

The characters of “Dremiks” are surrounded by shifting loyalties, saboteurs, deceitful aliens, and all of the dangers of space travel. Friendships evolve, relationships unravel, and there’s still a planet to be saved. This is the space-opera that will suck you in and keep you up late at night.

TO DARE THE DUKE OF DANGERFIELD

TO DARE THE DUKE OF DANGERFIELD

by Bronwen Evans

Finalist Romance Best Indie Books 2012
The New Kindle Book Review

Let the Wicked Wagers Begin…

Lady Caitlin Southall’s temper has finally got the better of her. She’s challenged Harlow Telford, the Duke of Dangerfield, the most notorious rake in all of England, to a wager. She wants her house back. The one her destitute father lost to Dangerfield in a card game. But if she doesn’t win their bet, she not only loses her home, she loses her dignity and pride and damn it all, maybe her heart… For the handsome Duke has decreed, when he wins, she must spend the night in his bed.

Harlow Telford is amused by his hellion neighbor, Caitlin, or Cate to her friends, who seem to encompass everyone on earth except him. When she bursts into one of his private gatherings, he mistakes her for the entertainment. Her slap across his face sets him straight and raises the absurd desire to seduce the unconventional beauty into his bed. When she issues her daft challenge to win back her father’s pile of rubble, the terms are set. And he’ll do anything to win–except fall in love…

LAST CHOSEN ONE

LAST CHOSEN ONE

by Stephen Woodfin

Finalist of Mystery/Thriller Best Indie Books of 2012
The New Kindle Book Review

ABOUT LAST ONE CHOSEN:
A legal thriller written by an attorney who knows the law.

Homeland Security agents raid a small East Texas town and arrest a humble blue-collar worker for domestic terrorism and espionage. When two country lawyers take on his defense and fight to prevent their client’s execution, they learn that he holds the secret of a doomsday device, a secret he will not divulge, even under torture. At the trial’s astonishing conclusion, they realize for the first time that their struggle was not only about justice, but also redemption.

LAST ONE CHOSEN chronicles what can happen when one person motivated purely by the desire to do good for his fellow human beings is willing to give his life to oppose the forces of evil.